Cart 0

Hair Growth in Stages...

Posted by Emilienne Rebel on

Hair Growth – The Stages

Have you ever wondered why your hair does not grow past one point no matter how much you try? This is because, contrary to popular belief, your hair has a life cycle of 3-5 years after which it falls out to let a new hair grow in its place.

Stage 1: Anagen

This is the phase when the hair grows out from the follicles, and the shaft is continuously constructed, increasing the length of your hair. This phase can last for 2-6 years.

Stage 2: Catagen

In this phase, your hair prepares to go into resting. This stage can last for about 2 weeks.

Stage 3: Telogen

The last phase is the resting phase wherein the hair stops growing and eventually falls out to let a new hair replace it. This phase lasts for about 5-6 weeks.

10-20% of your hair is always in resting at any given time. Hair loss occurs when your hair falls out without completing this 3 stage cycle. The hair loss becomes permanent when the follicle stops producing hair, leading to balding. 

Share this post

← Older Post Newer Post →

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published.